Options

Passed CISSP Dec 8

Me86Me86 Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
Here is the famous post that I have been longing to write for a couple of months now:

Background:
Most of my background is in IT audit and I passed the CISA last year.
The CISA helped me obtain basic knowledge in each part of the 8 domains in the CISSP CBK but at a high level so I wasn't totally unfamiliar with the material.

Study Material:
Shon Harris' latest AIO:
My 2 weakest domains were Telco and Security Architecture and Design (as per the old domains). I thoroughly read these 2 chapters in this book to understand the basics.
It too me quite some time but helped me understand each different concepts independently.

Official ISC² CBK
After reading those two chapters I started running out of time so I decided to continue studying with the official CBK to be sure to be up to date with the new material.
I read this book from end to end.

Sybex Official Guide 7th edition:
Now this book is one I really recommend.
Reading it after the Shon Harris and Official guide is what helped me get the big picture and put the pieces of the puzzle together and link the different concepts together. It has all the material you need to pass the exam.

The cybrary videos are on point. Kelly is an excellent teacher. She explains very well and gives tips on what to expect/what areas to focus on.
Questions:
Cccure: (Helpful but sometimes the questions don't make sense and are not written in proper english so it can get quite a bit frustrating at times). Otherwise the explanations are great.
Shon Harris: Great material but doesn't take into account the new added material (BYOD, IoT etc)
Sybex: Flashcards are not bad and the questions are about the material.

This is just my personal opinion, everyone has their preferences and their study methods.