Options

Passed Mobility+ (24-Dec-2015)

junaid375junaid375 Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Passed Mobility+ this week. Wanted to post some info since there is not enough threads about Mobility+ on this forum.

For passing this cert, all you need is to read "CompTIA Mobility+ Certification All-in-One Exam Guide" cover-to-cover.
200 questions that are included with book (as DVD) will be enough to give you an idea about real questions in exams.
20 questions at the end of every chapter will help as well.

I have 10+ years total experience in IT, around 8 years in Database/application/ERP security.
I recently worked for a company as mobility consultant, supporting their EMM/MDM solution.
I have in-depth knowledge about MDM/MAM/MCM etc but this exam is more than just a MDM exam. Ofcourse a big chunk is MDM but you will have to review OSI Model, Network devices info etc to pass this exam. Furthermore, from the study guide, chapters pertaining to backup recovery etc must read carefully, since they define some best practices. CompTIA best practices are same like ISACA's, you have to agree to them to pass the exam. So forget about what you would typically do in your job as MDM admin, just follow the guidelines mentioned in study guide.

Mobility+ vs Vendor Specific certs like Citrix and Airwatch.:
If you are looking for a career in mobility as a MDM guy, and you have basic networking knowledge, its better to go for vendor specific cert. Every MDM solution I have worked with are 90% same. So knowing one will help you understand what MDM is and then operating/managing other MDMs will be easy.

I did this cert since it was on my to-do list since start of my mobility job. Even though I have a different job now, I still wanted to have a cert to backup my "Mobility/BYOD" expertise.

Comments

• Options
    advanex1advanex1 Member Posts: 365 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I would say you have a bit of experience with the CISM/CISA :)

Congrats on the pass.
    Currently Reading: CISM: All-in-One