Options

Need advice about hardware/IOS upgrade (CCNA lab)

ITsubcedITsubced Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello people,

I am studying for my CCNAs examens with books and simulators (CCENT/CCNA ICND1 100-101 Official Cert Guide; CCNA Routing and Switching ICND2 200-101 Official Cert Guide; pearson tools; GNS3) icon_study.gif.

Not so long ago, I decided to buy and make a CCNA lab. So now, I have the following icon_arrow.gif :
3x Cisco 2620XM (65 mo RAM; 16 mo System Flash under IOS Version 12.2(7r))
3x Cisco C2950 (IOS Version 12.1(22)EA6)

I will use, at maximum, 3 hosts on that lab.

I wonder if :
I should add more RAM, change the Cisco Flash and upgrade the IOS version?
Is my hardware specs are enough for the CCNA certification?
What do you guys think?

I create this topic because I know that having good hardware specs will prevent network congestion and improve throughput icon_silent.gif.

Thanks in advance for your help
2017 Certification Goals: ICND2 [] CCNP []

Comments

• Options
    clarsonclarson Member Posts: 903 ■■■■□□□□□□
    the switches are good. the routers should be running a version 12.4 and for that your going to need more memory. Something like 128/32. I'd verify your ios version. 12.2(7r) seems more to be the bootloader version.
    And, in a lab, if you run into network congestion, you are doing it wrong
  • Options
    clarson wrote: »
    the switches are good. the routers should be running a version 12.4 and for that your going to need more memory. Something like 128/32. I'd verify your ios version. 12.2(7r) seems more to be the bootloader version.
    And, in a lab, if you run into network congestion, you are doing it wrong

Thank you very much, clarson.

You are right, it is the bootloader version, I put wrong information.
    The router is running under IOS 12.4a version (System image file is "flash:c2600-advsecurityk9-mz.124-1a.bin).

I will follow your advice about getting 128/32.