Options

Question about a CCNA home lab

TechnicalJayTechnicalJay Member Posts: 219 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I'm very new to networking (Currently working desktop support for 2 years and looking to move up) and would like your input about a home lab. Do you guys think a home lab is worth it? I was looking on cert kits and found Basic 2 Router & 1 Switch CCNA 200-120 Lab Kit - CertificationKits . Would this be any good to practice on and would I need to buy anything extra for the lab?

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    NightEye00NightEye00 Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi,

Real lab gear is absolutely far more better than PT but if you're planning to get "just" a CCNA, I suppose PT can give you enough oppportunities to try out the most important technologies/features as I'm preparing for CCNA now and I like doing PT labs even if it's sometimes a bit annoying not having all the needes commands in that. Btw, if you decide to buy real gear the most important thing is to check the IOS-version. The newer the better because later versions/releases have more commands.

Hope that helped :)
  • Options
    theodoxatheodoxa Member Posts: 1,340 ■■■■□□□□□□
    A home lab is definitely worth it. That said, most preassembled kits are overpriced. You can almost always beat the prices on eBay. The kit you posted could be assembled for under $100 (not counting the lab workbook).
    R&S: CCENT CCNA CCNP CCIE [ ]
    Security: CCNA [ ]
    Virtualization: VCA-DCV [ ]
  • Options

CCNA: RS
    CCNP: RS

Routers

3 x 1841 or 2800 Series
    1 x 2811*
    6 x WIC-1DSU-T1-V2*
    4 x 1841 or 2800 Series
    1 x 2811*
    8 x WIC-1DSU-T1-V2*

Switches

3 x Layer 2 (2950, 2960)
    or Layer 3 (3550, 3560, or 3750)

4 x 3560 or 3750 Series