Options

WGU - MSISA Degree

mmorrisonmmorrison Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,
I'm going to be starting the MS:ISA program at WGU on the 1st of February. I've read through here and saw a couple of posts about the program but would like feedback from people who've done the entire degree or are currently in progress. Any thoughts overall? Any classes that are a nightmare to do? How was the work load, i.e. how long (on average) were the papers and such.

Little about me:
B.S. in Public Relations (I know)
I currently work in the INFOSEC Industry as a INFOSEC Security Analyst prior to that I taught CCNA/Networking
Certs: CASP, Net+, Sec+, CEH, CHFI, ECIH, CNDA, ECSS, CCNA R&S, CCNA Security, and Cisco Certified instructor for CCNA Security.

So I'm by no means a "noobie" but reading the comments about the VLT2 class, my panic alarm is in full flare.

Comments

• Options
    novovictusnovovictus Member Posts: 192
    Howdy, Welcome to the club! I have my CHFI scheduled for this weekend, and my capstone as the only remaining courses. I have a few certs as well, and work in the industry. I have to say that doing the bachelors at WGU set me up for success on this program. The hardest part is figuring out exactly what the graders want to see in the format they want. The material is good, but one of your experience should be able to breeze through most courses. If you can manage the stuff that pops up in life you can easily finish in 1-2 terms.

I too was frightened about VLT2, but after reading everyone input I was prepared. Task 1 was no problem, Task 2 I had to resubmit twice, and Task 3 & 4 took one revision. It is a horribly designed course, but honestly everyone's complaints helped me zero in on what to do. The only other course that took a little time for me was FXT2, and I think was only due to the amount of writing required. Let me know if there is anything I can help you with along the way!