Options

Anyone worked a PC Refresh Project

FayzFayz Member Posts: 118 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am close to getting a short term contract for PC refresh project. Basically backing up PCs and then transferring the data to the new PCs. Updating excel worksheets with new PCs installed and old PCs going to be decommissioned. Has anyone done this type of project if so how did it go for you? I have to say I am extremely nervous since it is my first time working in a corporate environment.

Comments

• Options
    E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,231 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Did this for a few months back in '06. Very simple work. Left as soon as a NOC opportunity became available.
    Alphabet soup from (ISC)2, ISACA, GIAC, EC-Council, Microsoft, ITIL, Cisco, Scrum, CompTIA, AWS
  • Options
    techfiendtechfiend Member Posts: 1,481 ■■■■□□□□□□
    It can be tedious especially if you have to setup software after imaging. Just do your best and show good work ethic to get a good reference. I don't know if you'll learn much but you might be glad it's a short contract as this work is easy to burn out. Something to put on your resume to start climbing the ladder.
    2018 AWS Solutions Architect - Associate (Apr) 2017 VCAP6-DCV Deploy (Oct) 2016 Storage+ (Jan)
    2015 Start WGU (Feb) Net+ (Feb) Sec+ (Mar) Project+ (Apr) Other WGU (Jun) CCENT (Jul) CCNA (Aug) CCNA Security (Aug) MCP 2012 (Sep) MCSA 2012 (Oct) Linux+ (Nov) Capstone/BS (Nov) VCP6-DCV (Dec) ITILF (Dec)
  • Options
    UncleBUncleB Member Posts: 417
    I've done dozens of these over the years and chances are it is an almost fully automated process if the client has a half-awake tech team.

You will be given a schedule of where to go and who to see, you run some program on the client if needed to backup their files/settings, swap the computer and maybe screen/keyboard/mouse then run another program when the user logs on to reload their stuff.