Options

Destop support ladder

sbucklandsbuckland Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello, I am currently a Desktop Support tech with almost 5 years of experience under my belt. Trying to decide where I want to go from here. I am considering breaking into the Systems administrator role, however I am a little confused. I have experience from desktop support with active directory and a few other areas, But I am not sure what certs to get. I know there is the MCSA, but I also saw that CompTia has a Server+ cert. Should I get Server plus first, then MCSA, or skip Server+ all together. Any other certs recommended.

Thank You.

I currently hold Net+, Security+, Project+, Linux+, and a couple Web design certs.

Comments

• Options
    seth479seth479 Member Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□
    From what I know of Server+, it seems to be a more broad exam on your environment and processes dealing with storage, hardware, disaster recovery, etc. I'm sure Server+ may be beneficial in some situations where you're maybe building out a new environment but if you want to get in to actual Microsoft administrator dealing with the software side then MCSA would be what I started with. The MCSA also deals with some stuff like storage, disaster recovery but also goes further in depth with setting up access to your environment more than the Server+ would.
    LinkedIn | www.sethhall.com
    In Progress - MCSE: Messaging [] 70-341 [] 70-342
    Up Next - MCSE: Communication
    2016 Goals: MCSE: Messaging / Communication, CCENT, LPIC-1
  • Options
    dmoore44dmoore44 Member Posts: 646
    The CompTIA certs are vendor agnostic and therefore focus more on best practices or general knowledge. If you're wanting to break in to a sysadmin role, I would say that your best bet is to go for the Microsoft certs (or perhaps LPIC or RHSA if you're interested in Linux). The vendor/platform specific certs will go further in helping you in to a new role.