Options

Need Advice - CHFI (and CEH)

burningstarburningstar Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

I found this forum while doing some research on EC-Council and their CHFI/CEH training/certifications. I really need some advice and think this forum may provide me with some answers. Please keep in mind as you read my post and reply that I have absolutely no formal educational background in anything IT-related and I have never had a job in IT. I am coming from the perspective of computer crime investigations.

I have a Master's and Bachelor's Degree in a Criminal Justice/Psychology related area. I have worked for the past 9 years in a computer crime related field (investigations). I have gained a lot of technical knowledge in this job and know things now that I truly had no clue about 10 years ago. I have come a long way since then and have attended various trainings/conferences that are pretty technical because of the job I have now but I do not have any formal certifications. So you have an idea of some of my knowledge, I deal with encryption, hashing, anonymizers, IP tracing, etc.

I have been thinking about getting a degree or certification(s) in something more technical for a little while now and have been researching the CHFI and CEH courses/certs through EC-Council because after reading the descriptions I thought they fit what I was looking for knowledge wise but they are also affordable trainings and I have the ability to do it online at my own pace. I have read some negative things on this board about these certs/EC-Council and I can understand that some people here may have a negative opinion because they are coming from a different background than myself (I have read some see them as a joke, or something they just needed for HR purposes, etc.). I totally understand all of these opinions if someone is coming from a much more technical background than myself. However, does the same ring true for someone with my background?