Options

Failed CISSP the other day.

destroy8383destroy8383 Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
I failed the CISSP the other day but here are some of my notes and takeaway's, hopefully it helps others preparing for the exam. Its a fast kind of sloppy write up, I will clear more details later...

My experience, 11 years in IT/IA security from assurance to cyber incident response. CEH, CASP, Sec+, ITIL, Server+

How I prepared, I started studying in OCT last year. Started with Skillport, I got sybrex 7th edition when it came out. Got through most of it by DEC, watching some cybrary videos. Work got really busy, I didn't keep up with a strong study effort. I picked back up in Jan and finished Sybrex. I got Conrads 3rd edition. I did many CCCUre questions, Sybrex online questions, reviewed 11th edition and the sunflower pdf the last few days before the test. I was averaging 75-80% on CCure.

I wasn't too confident in many answers on the test, I read the questions thoroughly and tried to pick them apart by the words it used and answer from that if I didn't know the answer. I thought like a manager, applied the CIA concepts to every questions. I flagged about 40 questions reviewed those and decided to go through the questions again I got to about question 200 and ended the test with 15 minutes left, I changed about 60 answers I think. I got a 640 with Sec Ops and Sec engineering being the top two domains.

My take away on why I failed is not understanding the concepts more, meaning not being able to just define a topic but being able to talk about it and explain in good detail to someone who might not know, like a CEO.