Options

Passed CISSP 02/06/2016

R6RavenR6Raven Member Posts: 28 ■■■□□□□□□□
I last posted a write-up for passing my SSCP and thankfully can now do the same for the CISSP. Before anything else, I have to say this forum is the only one I checked (daily at that) for inspiration, advice, and more so thanks to everyone who posted before me. The encouragement here is very much appreciated.

About me: 8 or so years in IT, progressively moving up from help desk to help desk supervisor, server admin-type roles, then into network and currently in network security. I spend my days now in firewalls, IPS/IDS, proxies, etc. I currently hold the SSCP, CCNA R/S and Security, and previously held Sec+ and various Microsoft/Apple certifications but no degree.

I started studying around last summer following the SSCP and a short break, but work and home life always seemed to get in the way of taking it seriously. I finally booked it for November 2015 and hit the books pretty hard for a couple months. Again, work got in the way and I was forced to reschedule about a month out from my exam date, so studying went back into limbo until the first of the year. Then, I picked back up and hit the material hard, every day, until the morning of the exam. I didn't attend any classes, instead opting for shutting myself away for a couple hours a day (thanks to my wife for a ton of support here) and did it the old fashion way, still passing on my first attempt.

All that said, here's my opinion of the review material I used:

CCCure Practice Questions (7/10):