Options

Not sure where to go with my career. Been lazy and need motivation

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Senior MemberPosts: 0 ■■□□□□□□□□
So I have been a college graduate for about a year now and the only thing I accomplished was my CEH. I want to accomplish more but I don't know where I want to go with my career. I work in an SOC position (Security Operations) so i am on an on call rotation once a month with my team. I am stuck between doing Networking and doing Penetration testing as my 2 main fields of interest. I know I have a long time before I need to know what I want to do with my life in IT but the job I am at now isn't where I want to be with my life. I can't be the jack of all trades being the network admin/pentester etc. There are some fields in IT like databases that don't interest me. Do I like SQL for SQL injection sure. Can I work with databases 24/7? Nope. I'm only 23 and I feel like a loser because other then my CEH I did last year and my CCENT/CCNA, I haven't done much of anything. I bounce up and back between certification goals and I can't make up my mind. One day I want my MCTS the next day my CWNA then my CCNP then this and that. I am accepting that I cannot do all the certs out there as they are to much money and take up a lot of time. What should I do in this position? Can anyone shed some light as to if this has happened to them before?

Comments

• Options
    gespensterngespenstern Member Posts: 1,243 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Never happened to me with the exception of "loser" part. I feel depressed and worthless about 85% of the time because of lack of accomplishments and not achieving much. I, however, have a pretty solid vision of where I was, where do I go, when it's going to happen and how I will finally die with pretty high probability and the rest of the world will move on as usual like nothing happened.