Options

Passed CISSP 6th Feb - First Try

arav.samarav.sam Member Posts: 8 ■■□□□□□□□□
Firstly I would like to thank this forum for giving abundant information on this exam.
From this forum, I read of lot of success/failure stories which helps me exactly how I need to approach this exam.
I have close to 10 years of experience in Information security, involved in Security Audit, Testing, Infrastructure and Vendor Risk Assessments etc. I already have CISA, CISM, SSCP and security+ certifications.
If I am not sharing my cissp exam experience, then I am doing injustice to myself and to this forum.
Ask yourself a question, why do I need CISSP , bcoz answer to that question will give you the initial thrust to prepare for this exam.
  1. Bought the books SYBEX - CISSP (ISC)2 Certified Information Systems Security Professional Official Study Guide, 7th Edition.
  2. Prepared seven weeks scheduled timetable for the exam, once I am done with first two chapters, I booked the exam date, so that I will stick to the schedule of the remaining chapters.
  3. Spent daily three hours, but most of the time I deviated from schedule because of my current job, but I made sure that I compensated those hours during weekends.
  4. After 3 weeks, I bought CCcure one month subscription to test my understanding to the each chapters, not bad, able to get most of the answers correct.
  5. By the end of 4th week, I completed all chapters and again started revising the same chapters all over again.
  6. I didn’t have time to go through CCcure tests, but only problem I had is to memorize the port numbers, laws and other generic terms, trust me in exam it doesn’t matter, not even one question is related to specific ports or laws. So don’t spend too much time on memorizing the ports, make sure u go through these on one day before the exam.