Options

new contracting role - starting in a week.

DrakeisaDrakeisa Banned Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Peepz,

I recently received a contract for 6 months and I am starting it next month.

I am confident but I haven't worked as a contractor before for a organization.

This is for a senior systems admin to come on-board to do project based work as well as you know the infrastructure support.

In the interview they were impressed with my skillz and knowledge however I do not have experience with VMware which was one of their project requirements. I never listed VMware and I told them that I have no experience in this but I do have experience with other products such as HyperV, yet they hired me. I'm labbing in my spear time for VMware - since I do not know VMware should I be worried? I told them I don't have experience with it.

I mean if I wasn't qualified for the job they wouldn't hire me - all of the rest of the stuff they wanted I had !

Comments

• Options
    jimjamesjimjames Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
    You're fine. You were upfront but that doesn't mean you can slack and not learn vmware before you start. You can learn enough to be comfortable enough in a week's time.
  • Options
    bryguybryguy Member Posts: 190
    "I mean if I wasn't qualified for the job they wouldn't hire me..."

As a guy who has been nothing but a contractor for the entirety of his IT career (10+ years), I can tell you that contracting organizations place unqualified people in positions regularly. The fact of the matter is, they're not making money off of anyone in an unfilled position and most contracting companies would rather send you in blind, than see that position vacant. It's the nature of the business. With that said, I'd try my best to get up to speed in the meantime, because the client will expect you to be a subject matter expert, and hit the ground running.
  • Options
    bryguy wrote: »
    "I mean if I wasn't qualified for the job they wouldn't hire me..."