Options

vSAN: Network Requirements

DeathmageDeathmage Banned Posts: 2,496
Hey guys,

So I know from reading, since I've never done a vSAN before, that VMware calls for a 10G connection per host connecting to a OOB Storage Fabric. What I'm curious about is in a Home-lab is a 10G connection truly needed or would a Quad 1G bonded link suffice per host vs a 10G link to an obvious FC or FCoE Infrastructure.

The only thing I guess I'm concerned about is cache size on the OOB switches, since that's just a **** ton of traffic....

I could do it to a 10G iSCSI-capable OOB Fabric but if I'm going with 10G in the home-lab at that point I mind as-well just make it a FCoE or FC fabric. But crious if (4) 1Gbit connections in a etherchannel would suffice cause then I could just find a 2960G and bump it's memory on the switch for a larger cache.

This is purely for a Home-lab, in Production I would go for a Dual 10G FC or FCoE configuration. icon_wink.gif

Thoughts?

Comments

• Options
    joelsfoodjoelsfood Member Posts: 1,027 ■■■■■■□□□□
    10g isn't required, it is just recommended. 1g is fine (in theory) though it will depend on the rate of change of your data.

For the record, FC doesn't come in 10G(2/4/8/16/32), and you don't really update cache on a switch, as in general, data won't leave the ASIC/SoC, so you just have the cache built into that (though different QoS policies can change the assignment of the "buckets")
  • Options
    DPGDPG Member Posts: 780 ■■■■■□□□□□
    vSAN utilizes local storage and ethernet connections between the hosts. You can't user FC or FCoE.
  • Options
    joelsfood wrote: »
    10g isn't required, it is just recommended. 1g is fine (in theory) though it will depend on the rate of change of your data.