Options

How beneficial is it to practice on an actual ASA?

NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
So for those that have passed the new CCNA:Security, did you practice on an actual ASA at all? (Either using GNS3 or a physical one)

I'm going through the CBT Nugget videos and was having a pain last night getting the ASA to load into GNS3. Was using just the information on the videos to set it up. I'm extremely new to using GNS3 btw. I finally got it working around midnight last night (sort of at least...). To the point I could get the console. But for some reason it was asking me to setup the ip address, mask, gateway, etc. right upon starting the ASA console though. Like I couldn't go anywhere if I didn't set those. I didn't have anything connected to the ASA so was a little confused by that. Debating on buying one at this point, not sure if its needed though.

I plan on buying the boson exam and sounds like they have some lab simulations on there. Also, I already purchased the "Implementing Cisco Network Security (IINS) v3.0" from Cisco but waiting til I get done with the CBT videos before going into that. Not exactly sure how much ASA simulation they have.

Comments

• Options
    AMD4EVERAMD4EVER Member Posts: 64 ■■□□□□□□□□
    ASAv is a good alternative to using it in GNS3. I was having no luck with that either nor was the Packet Tracer version of it sufficient. ASAv was pretty easy to setup. I posted a little info on my experience in the threads below if you are interested

http://www.techexams.net/forums/ccna-security/116769-ccna-security-lab.html
    http://www.techexams.net/forums/ccna-security/117092-download-asdm-asav.html
  • Options
    Thanks! I'll definitely check that out tonight. I'm not confident I have mine setup correctly and don't really plan on dropping $150 on an actual one. So I'm down to trying that! icon_thumright.gif
  • Options
    koz24koz24 Member Posts: 766 ■■■■□□□□□□