Options

Which path to take?

Hi all-

I am fairly new to the IT world, so I need some guidance. I have been pursuing my CompTIA certs and planned on doing the MCSE, CCNA, etc etc.

I have found that I really enjoy programming. I played around with a SQL lab and had SO MUCH FUN! Is it worth my time to finish up my N+ (Close to taking the test.) and then go for some SQL certs instead of following the path I am on? I want to get out of help desk, as I am getting bored of it.

Thoughts?

A+ certified
Bachelors of Science in Social Work, Augsburg College
Working on: Network+

Comments

• Options
    bpennbpenn Member Posts: 499
    You enjoyed SQL? Im envious, I couldnt get on that wagon. To answer your question, could you see yourself working with SQL in the future? Have you thought about becoming a DBA? I believe there are some Microsoft certs for SQL and you could pursue MCSA 2012 then transition to SQL specializations.
    "If your dreams dont scare you - they ain't big enough" - Life of Dillon
  • Options
    636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Network+ never hurts. Always good to have a 101-understanding of how networks work. DBA is a good role, keep digging deeper. I always like to inject a little bit of security into everybody, so I'd also say play around some with sqlmap: automatic SQL injection and database takeover tool too!
  • Options
    bloodshotbettybloodshotbetty Member Posts: 215
    Thank you! Do you feel it is worth my while to continue and get my S+? Or should I switch gears as soon as I take my N+ and dive into DBA, programming, etc?

A+ certified
    Bachelors of Science in Social Work, Augsburg College
    Working on: Network+
  • Options
    TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Thank you! Do you feel it is worth my while to continue and get my S+? Or should I switch gears as soon as I take my N+ and dive into DBA, programming, etc?