Options

Building a home lab

Gregoryb1130Gregoryb1130 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone. I'm excited to become a member of the forum. I am studying for my CCENT and am looking to put together a home lab to practice with. I have found 4 catalyst 3560 switches (2 - 24port 2- 48 port) on Craig's list for for $200. I am curious to know if this is a good deal for this equipment and if all 4 of them would be suitable for a home lab.

Thanks for any information.

Comments

• Options
    clarsonclarson Member Posts: 903 ■■■■□□□□□□
    the important part is weather they are "ts" or "ps" models. that is high for "ps" models and low for "ts" models. and, of course, you'd prefer to get the "ts" models as they can run version 15 of the ios.
    http://www.techexams.net/forums/ccna-ccent/115556-ccna-lab.html
  • Options
    Aw poo. I was thinking I was getting a smoking deal. They are the PS models. Should I keep looking?
  • Options
    if you need poe a 3550 is cheaper. if you need a bunch of 10/100 ports, 2950's are even cheaper. if your are looking for a switch that can run version 15 of the ios, it cant.

So, your getting overcharged for switches that can't do what you want. Still want to buy them?

I bought 2x 3560 "ts" models with free shipping for $100 ($50 each) off ebay just last month. Good deals don't show up everyday, keep your eye out maybe you will find them like I did.
  • Options
    Ok after an entire days worth of research I have decided in this for my home lab: 1-2611 2-2811 routers, 1-3550 and 2-3650 ts's. My budget is around $200 and I already have a desktop stand which I bought today for $30. I figure these will be the dominant class of routers I would see in the real world. Am I wrong?
  • Options