comparing exams

adrenaline19adrenaline19 Member Posts: 251
I have not taken the CEH, but I'd like to know how close is the material to that of the Sec+.

Could I study for one and then take the other? How unrelated are they in terms of exam questions? In theory, they should cover mostly the same stuff, but we all know how that's not true.

If I studied and passed the Sec+ and then took the CEH test on the same day, would I pass it?

If not, why? What areas would doom me?

Comments

• chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Completely different exams. I am afraid you are confused on what these tests cover. One is an ethical hacker exam and the other is a network security and risk management exam.

Security+
    As a benchmark for best practices in IT security, this certification covers the essential principles for network security and risk management.
    https://certification.comptia.org/certifications/security

CEH
    The accredited course provides the advanced hacking tools and techniques used by hackers and information security professionals alike to break into an organization. As we put it, “To beat a hacker, you need to think like a hacker”. This course will immerse you into the Hacker Mindset so that you will be able to defend against future attacks.
    https://www.eccouncil.org/Certification/certified-ethical-hacker

To answer your question.....you will fail if you study for one and tried to test the other one.
    Certs: CISSP, EnCE, OSCP, CRTP, eCTHPv2, eCPPT, eCIR, LFCS, CEH, SPLK-1002, SC-200, SC-300, AZ-900, AZ-500, VHL:Advanced+
    2023 Cert Goals: SC-100, eCPTX
  • Sch1smSch1sm Member Posts: 64 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It's similar but you wouldn't pass CEH only studying for Sec+. Ec-Council has their own methodology for a lot of things that you have to memorise. There's also a lot of questions on a large number of tools.
  • adrenaline19adrenaline19 Member Posts: 251