Options

Server 2012 R2 Activation

cj0nescj0nes Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I am studying for my MCSA. I have a copy of Server 2012 R2 that I'm trying to use in a lab. I'm using a virtual environment (VirtualBox). Once I had initially updated and activated the first install, I cloned the vm through VirtualBox. The problem I'm having is when I'm firing up the cloned VMs, they are no longer activated. What are some ways that I can maintain activation?

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    You can't maintain the activation after cloning, you'll have to re-activate with either a different key or use the trial copy available from Microsoft and simply activate over and over for the 180-day trial period.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • Options
    iBrokeITiBrokeIT Member Posts: 1,318 ■■■■■■■■■□
    It depends on the license model you are using. OEM licenses are single use/single activation, Volume License are just that... Also, like SlowHand said, don't maintain activation after a clone because it is a new instance.
    2019: GPEN | GCFE | GXPN | GICSP | CySA+ 
    2020: GCIP | GCIA 
    2021: GRID | GDSA | Pentest+ 
    2022: GMON | GDAT
    2023: GREM  | GSE | GCFA

WGU BS IT-NA | SANS Grad Cert: PT&EH | SANS Grad Cert: ICS Security | SANS Grad Cert: Cyber Defense Ops SANS Grad Cert: Incident Response
  • Options
    cj0nescj0nes Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Ooh, I like the sound of that trial copy.
  • Options
    netsysllcnetsysllc Member Posts: 479 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Actually the OEM version still comes with virtualization rights for 2VMs and is not just single activation
  • Options
    bohackbohack Member Posts: 114