Options

Advice needed to chose career wisely

avidgolferavidgolfer Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Expects,

I'm a Software Developer and a CS graduate with good understanding of security principles.

Currently, I'm developing Identity and Access Management (IAM) applications and have been working 8 years in the same space.

Being a Software Developer in security domain (IdM/ IAM domain) for 8 years, I am looking for a lead position in my next company, where I would like to architect the security software designs with less involvement in coding and manage the projects. Eventually, looking for a InfoSec Manager roles in future.

To simply put, I am a Software Developer (current) -> want to become a Lead Developer (short-term goal) -> want to become a InfoSec Manager (long-term goal)

I'm thinking of by taking the SSCP, CSSLP and CISSP exams gives some edge along with the existing experiences to achieve my short and term goals.

Do you think that by taking these certifications helps me to actualize my goals?

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    avidgolferavidgolfer Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
  • Options
    cbkihongcbkihong Member Posts: 52 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I guess we are the kind of minority here. I earned my CISSP last August, and have always considered myself primarily a software/web developer with an emphasis on SDLC security, with some kind of sysadmin background. Glad you raised this - it's what I am interested in knowing too. I hope there may be some other useful pointers from others.

For now I'll tell you what I think though.