Options

Getting in contact with IT Professionals?

PsydroxPsydrox Member Posts: 25 ■□□□□□□□□□
I title this IT professionals and not cyber security professionals because I suppose this practice could apply to any type of field.

I am a college student looking to get into the cyber security field, while surely everyone would like the top paying jobs in the field (CSO/CISO/Director of Security/Security Manager etc)

I was wondering if you guys knew a way I could get in contact with these security professionals personally and I could talk to them almost like a mentor figure and ask them about their path to success etc so I could get a sense of direction in my path to a good career.

I was thinking about getting on LinkedIn and searching around but I just don't know, these people probably wouldn't spend their time talking with me or be too busy anyways.

Thoughts?

Comments

• Options
    kelleycl22kelleycl22 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I, too, would like to get in touch with more individuals already in the field. I'm currently using our corporate social media site and LinkedIn to connect with people.
  • Options
    Mike RMike R Member Posts: 148 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I'm also in a similar position as you. I'm working on a CCNA and would like to find someone to ask various questions. I'm trying to break into the field and make as few as mistakes as possible so I don't waste time or money. These forums are great if you can visit them every day or two, but eventually finding a mentor or a Networking group would be great.
  • Options
    BerkshireHerdBerkshireHerd Member Posts: 185
    Just Do It!