Options

IS CISSP worth it to you.

ClmClm Member Posts: 444 ■■■■□□□□□□
I was reading a old article linked below. Short story the author and a lot of people commenting are bashing CISSP as a Cert. I have always seen CISSP as a upper level cert with more of management feel to it. I passed It last month a rough 3 hours for me lol. I have 6 years experience in IT Various roles. Some of the smartest people I know in the technical world that I know all agreed this was a tough test. to end my rant question if you have CISSP did it help you improve at work? do you believe there are better security certs? is CISSP the gold standard for security certs?

Your CISSP is Worthless - So Now What?
I find your lack of Cloud Security Disturbing!!!!!!!!!
Connect with me on LinkedIn https://www.linkedin.com/in/myerscraig

Comments

• Options
    PCTechLincPCTechLinc Member Posts: 646 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Keep in mind that while I don't have CISSP, I would like to attain it eventually in my career.

That being said, just about ANY cert in the professional world is going to be bashed by someone. I've read countless articles saying that about Cisco, CompTIA, Microsoft, etc... For me personally, I attain certifications to justify my knowledge in a particular subject. The author of the article says "we need DOERS, not people that THINK about doing..." Well, I would hope that if you have attained ANY certification, that you would DO something productive with it. The certification alone won't help you at all. Your experience that you build along the way will. I try to explain that fundamental difference with my students. I may have a bunch of certs and degrees, but if I can't SHOW you that I know what I'm doing, then it's all worthless.

Just my 2 cents.

/rant
    Master of Business Administration in Information Technology Management - Western Governors University
    Master of Science in Information Security and Assurance - Western Governors University