Options

Getting into IT - career change

T4RT4R Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone, I would like to introduce myself and would like some suggestions from you awesome people (very positive vibes from this forum from what I can tell icon_cool.gif). My background is in electrical and previous education was from ITT (AS degree, don't ever go there). Earlier this year I got laid off due to company outsourcing and it has got me thinking that I should switch to something else, my interest in computers/technology. My local community college here has a program for computer network with emphasis in Cisco that I have signed up for. I had to start all over in taking GE classes and all (dam you ITT). My main goal here is to break into the IT field and achieve a bachelor’s degree.

My plan of attack is to get this AS degree in Computer Network w/emphasis in Cisco (local CC) then jump into WGU since I do not see any options in finding a BS in IT program that is convenient for my schedule.

Here is a list of Core computer classes I will be taking in school for the Computer Network-Cisco Program. I plan to have my A+, Network+ and Security+ by the time I finish this program. The list in not in the order I am taking. The prep info is from my community college catalog.

Hardware and O.S. Fundamentals (Prep for A+)
Networking Fundamentals (Prep for Network+)
Cisco Networking Fundamentals (Prep for CCNA)
Cisco Router Configuration (Prep for CCNA)
Cisco Advanced Routing and Switching (Prep for CCNA, R/S)
Cisco Wide Area Network Design and Support (Prep for CCNA)
Wireless Networking (Prep for IUWNE)
Hacker Prevention/Security (Prep for Security+)
Computer Forensics Fundamentals (Prep for IACIS)