Options

Self training/learning sites

jeremy351jeremy351 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone, I am an special electronics repairer by profession in the army. I have maybe a cumulative of 4 years on and off dealing with various network and desktop situations due to my position. I have always had a passion for Information technology and technology in general. We occasionally get the chance troubleshoot servers and desktops in our electronics repair shop. I am also very familiar with re-imaging client computers and base-lining the for the network. I have Comptia: A+,NET+, and SEC+, ETA-I: Certified Computer technician and Certified Network system technician. I also have A journeyman level electronics repair certification. I want to get into the information security field once I leave the military and would like to know:

-what are ways that I could gain further experience? I plan on enrolling in WGU for my BS in IT with a focus on security, and im studying for CASP.

- What skills are needed to make yourself marketable in the infosec field and what certifications hold weight? does having a security clearance help? I have a secret clearance.

- Are there any websites like cybrary and code academy that have in-depth free or inexpensive training? Im always looking to learn new skills

- What can I do to make myself more marketable for a job.

Any tips on entering the IT Security field would be great appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    nice343nice343 Member Posts: 391
    You asked a lot of questions so let me do a breakdown....

-[what are ways that I could gain further experience? I plan on enrolling in WGU for my BS in IT with a focus on security, and im studying for CASP.]