Q: how to: Automatic Synchronization

eric21120eric21120 Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am a tech person in our company that has few windows XP home edtion and server 2000, but the server is not a domain controller. All the computers are in same workgroup. Two of our users are saving some scanned documents in their local computers. My manager asked me if i could do something so that while the two users save their scaned documents on their desktop, at the same time or later a back up copy created in the server automaticly.

i am not sure about how to do that. However, i am thinking of synchronization, but do know how.

Please help me out guys step by step..
"There is only one good, knowledge, and one evil, ignorance." ~ Socrates

Comments

• 12thlevelwarrior12thlevelwarrior Member Posts: 302
    look into a software product called second copy. it is cheap and works very well. don't really like the built in windows sync, cause it makes a huge file with a different extension.

http://www.secondcopy.com/pricing.html
    Every man dies, not every man really lives.
  • TrailerisfTrailerisf Member Posts: 455
    eric21120 wrote:
    I am a tech person in our company that has few windows XP home edtion and server 2000, but the server is not a domain controller. All the computers are in same workgroup. Two of our users are saving some scanned documents in their local computers. My manager asked me if i could do something so that while the two users save their scaned documents on their desktop, at the same time or later a back up copy created in the server automaticly.

i am not sure about how to do that. However, i am thinking of synchronization, but do know how.

You should be having their doucments saved on the server... Map a shared folder on the server. Call it HOME. Create sub folders for usernames.

Map a drive from the client to the location on the server... iee

H Drive ... \\server\home\username