Which VCP certification should I focus on?

FayzFayz Member Posts: 118 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have list of certifications that I want to take this year and was looking to add one to the list. One of them is the VCP but, I am unsure of which one I should take. I was thinking of taking the DTM version which is Desktop and Mobility. Are the other ones like Network Virtualization, Data Center Virtualization, and Cloud Management and Automation more lucrative to go into and are there more jobs dealing with these than the Desktop Mobility. What's your take?

Comments

• kj0kj0 Member Posts: 767
    Which do you have experience in? The VCP is nothing to skim at. I've been working with Virtualization since 2013 and I still struggle with just the DCV exam. I've put many hours into it and come close to passing and only just missing by a couple of questions (anywhere up to 5ish - due to scoring) - In a business sense, there are a lot of components I haven't had much experience with and it seems to be the part that seems to let me down each time.
    2017 Goals: VCP6-DCV | VCIX
    Blog: https://readysetvirtual.wordpress.com
  • FayzFayz Member Posts: 118 ■■■□□□□□□□
    kj0 wrote: »
    Which do you have experience in? The VCP is nothing to skim at. I've been working with Virtualization since 2013 and I still struggle with just the DCV exam. I've put many hours into it and come close to passing and only just missing by a couple of questions (anywhere up to 5ish - due to scoring) - In a business sense, there are a lot of components I haven't had much experience with and it seems to be the part that seems to let me down each time.

I have experience with the Desktop and Mobility but unsure if I will go for it. Was thinking of taking the VCA version of it then going onto the VCP but I hear VCA is not worth it.
  • OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722