Rob's OSCP Journey

RobicusRobicus Member Posts: 144 ■■■□□□□□□□
I decided to invest into the OSCP a few months ago. My decision was based on the fact that the OSCP sounded like a badass certification that renders respect. A lot of anxiety was building up during the six weeks prior to my start date (before you get access the materials and labs). I have little offensive experience so I was torturing myself with doubt. "Will I grasp the material? "Are my Linux CL skills sufficient?" "Am I going to fail and be an uber noob?"

I received my welcome e-mail and instructions for connecting to the lab 2 weeks ago. It felt like Christmas morning circa 1995. The course instructions are clear. The videos are well organized, and the accompanying PDF document is spot on. So far I've spent 22~ hours going through the course materials and poking around in the lab-- about 1.5 hours per day.

The course outline is very logical. The content takes you on a ride that starts at a 10,000 foot elevation. But like a skydiver, you quickly come crashing down into a deep technical ground, where you'll be learning about buffer overflows from the perspective of the EIP register.

Recently, I encountered my first, "Crap! I'm stuck part." This is when I decided to logon to the forums and seek the knowledge of those are far more leet than myself. I soon discovered that I was this close to poppin' my first box for way too long. What did I discover? Simply revert your target machine prior to exploit. So I logged onto the student portal and reverted my target machine. I waited a few seconds. *pop*. Escalated privs on my first target (Yes, yes, I used Metasploit :)).

Tip #1: Use the forums. You won't get any discrete answers. But, you will likely get an idea of what you might want to try next.