Options

Is a Lab Necessary?

jws86jws86 Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am currently a Help Desk Support Tech for about 250 users. I do minor Cisco tasks right now (backups, configuring ports, etc.) and I enjoy it, so this is the route I have decided to take. I have no other certs and have been racking my brain back and forth for weeks as to what to start with. I have finally decided to take the CCNA route.

I plan to purchase CCNA Routing and Switching Study Guide by Todd Lammie, utilize YouTube, Udemy, and this website for my studies. However my concerns with lab equipment are as follows...

With the cost of study materials and cost of exams studying for CCENT/CCNA can be pricey. I don't want to half a** my studying, but is a physical lab really necessary with all of the virtual tools out there (GNS3, Cisco VIRL, etc)?

Is a physical lab something all of you who have taken this route have invested in from the very beginning? Or did you pass your CCNA without it and purchase later on for other purposes?
Currently studying for CCNA R&S

Comments

• Options
    NOC-NinjaNOC-Ninja Member Posts: 1,403
    Lab is not necessary if you already have hardware experience. I guessing you do.

You can pass using packettracer or gns3.. Virl will cost you.
  • Options
    MooseboostMooseboost Member Posts: 778 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If you have some hands-on experience, I think GNS3 will be enough for you.
  • Options
    That is great to hear! Thanks for the info. Save me some bucks to get this process started.
  • Options
    OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    For CCNA R+S, and good chunks of most the other tracks, physical equipment is not necessary.