CASP in June?

ErtazErtaz Member Posts: 934 ■■■■■□□□□□
Finished the CISSP at the End of March. Waiting on endorsement review now. I have 20 years of experience doing Unix/Windows/Cisco Firewall (Prior certs in HPUX, Alcatel switching, Cisco Certified Security Professional) in a manufacturing and telecom environment. I've tossed around about which cert to pursue next. I plan to do the CASP while I'm waiting for my GPEN class to start. I suppose this is a trophy cert, since I don't really need it for my job. I want to have it as a hedge as I believe it does showcase tangible practitioner/assessor skills. I'm doing the Cybrary videos now. Waiting on the Pearson CASP book to come back in stock.

My thoughts are:

Only having ~80 questions is pretty appealing.
Comptia's questioning on SEC+ seemed very straight forward, so while the depth is greatly increased for CASP, the questions will be direct.
The amount of overlap with what I've already studied with the CISSP seems to be significant.

For those of you that have both:

What were your motivations for getting both?
What are your thoughts on how the content of two exams (CASP, CISSP) differ?
Have you ever been asked about your CASP cert in a job interview?

Comments

• bpennbpenn Member Posts: 499
    I can tell you that the CASP holds some weight in the DoD world due to the 8570 (8140 blah blah) requirements. Other than that I have never actually seen it posted in a job listing. I can tell you that it would probably be more for personal knowledge as I hear it is highly technical. My boss took it and passed on his second attempt. There are a few lab-type scenarios and most of the questions are more technical than the CISSP but there is some overlap, mainly in theoretical concepts. Taking the CISSP before will definitely have a positive impact on your studies.
    "If your dreams dont scare you - they ain't big enough" - Life of Dillon
  • ErtazErtaz Member Posts: 934 ■■■■■□□□□□
    bpenn wrote: »