Options

Passed ICND1 Today

cabrillo24cabrillo24 Member Posts: 137
Scored a 903/1000. I want to say I studied off and on for 2 months. Other certifications and and some previous experience allowed me to pickup networking theory pretty fast and allowed me to re-learn a lot of the commands and outputs. I primary used Pularsight ICND1 course and CBT nuggets for topics I couldn't properly grasp first time around (trunking, OSPF). I used Wendell Odom's ICND1 Network Simulator for Mac to practice a ton of labs. I purchased the official book, but I only read a chapter or two. I would say overall I've put in about 50 hours studying for this certification at least.

I decided to knock out this cert to just get a deeper understanding of systems that I audit. I plan on doing 210-260 next. I deal more with Information Assurance, compliance and auditing vice network administration...which is why I'm not going the R&S route next....but I wouldn't rule it out for myself later down the line.

Anyone with much experience jumping from ICND1 to CCNA Security?
Next Up...
CCNA: Security (210-260)
Date: TBD

Comments

• Options
    NOC-NinjaNOC-Ninja Member Posts: 1,403
    Congrats. CCNA deals with firewall,acs, vpn, and cisco sec best practice.
    If you are exposed to cisco sec technologies then it shouldnt be hard to transition.
  • Options
    cabrillo24cabrillo24 Member Posts: 137
    Many thanks! Thanks. Previous work experience had me reviewing firewall configurations for auditing purposes, but the sysadmins would actually do the driving. Like I said, I want a deeper understanding when it comes to ensuring that not only are network devices secure, but to also be able to manually review the devices myself. I certainly have an appreciation for this Cisco cert. I know it's entry level, but wow...a lot of knowledge to absorb. Very far from entry level compared to other organization's "entry" level exams.
    Next Up...
    CCNA: Security (210-260)
    Date: TBD
  • Options