Options

CISCO or LINUX ???

couponcoupon Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I am new to IT, only have A+, Network+ and Security+ certificates, right now I work as an very entry level IT tech, most of the time just use Ghost imaging OS. So I only getting minimum wage just like working in the fast food...

I try to decide what career path is better for me, CISCO or LINUX ???
If I go Cisco path, I will study for CCNA/CCNP;
If I go Linux path, I will study for RHCSA/RHCE
I like both of them, since I don't have a lot of time, I can only pick one right now.

I think in IT, experience is very very important. Like my situation no degree, no security clearance, no experience but If I have the certificate, which path is better and easier to find a job? Since no experience, the pay can be lower, just try to get in the filed get some experience and start from there.

Thank you in advance.
[h=3][/h]

Comments

• Options
    TeKniquesTeKniques Member Posts: 1,262 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Can't really speak to which one is 'easier', but both with definitely help finding a job. With no experience you'd be starting out from the ground up with either option. Both can lead to good careers; either on the network side, Linux admin side, or later down the road with experience the security side. There are probably more jobs available right away if you go the Cisco route, especially in an entry level NOC position. However, don't underestimate a career in Linux - DevOps is heavy Linux and will keep growing in demand IMO.
  • Options
    OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    I'd say that the RHCSA/RHCE is easier, but I'm probably biased from my experience - I've spent more time in the backend of Linux/Unix than in networking.