Options

Homelab Storage Question

cshellscshells Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been setting up a lab with some old equipment from work for running nested ESXi and preparing for the VCP.

Right now, I have a Xeon e5-2650 v3 and 16GB of RAM (to be expanded). I also have an older server with a M5015 flashed with LSI firmware and 4x 4TB WD Red HDDs that I can use directly in the frame or in a NAS.

I'm new to ESXi and was wondering, what should I setup for storage? (Host based, NAS, SSD, etc.)

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    CChilderhoseCChilderhose Member Posts: 137
    You could set them up in a NAS and use NFS if you like. Also if you need to mimic iSCSI then Starwind has a Virtual SAN setup that you can use also. I have this working on my embedded setup to prep for the VCAP-DCA on June 2nd. :)
    VCAP-DCA, VCP 55
    MCITP: EA, VA, SA
    VCAP-DCD, VCP6 -- COMING SOON
  • Options
    kohr-ahkohr-ah Member Posts: 1,277
    I am not the best guy to ask about virtualization as I am just learning it in my spare time because I like it.

I use the SSD in my NUC 4th Gen as my OS storage so that I can boot up quickly and then any further storage I NFS to a Synology.
  • Options
    LexluetharLexluethar Member Posts: 516
    Use Free NAS or something equivalent. As long as you have the storage capacity on one of your Hosts simply do an NFS volume. There are definitely some differences between a VMDK and NFS volume, but for the sake of the VCP just knowing the differences is enough. Actually labing out IMO can be done with an NFS volume.
  • Options
    CSCOnoobCSCOnoob Member Posts: 120
    +1 on NFS and Synology. That's my setup as well.
  • Options
    jabneyjabney Member Posts: 61 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I would use Synology. I've done FreeNas, OpenMediaVault, and Nexenta each has failed on me and caused me to rebuild my lab multiple times. If you want set it and forget it use Synology you won't be sorry.
  • Options