Options

Passed CISSP exam on 13 May 16 - My mind felt like it was running a marathon

Hopsdaballa04Hopsdaballa04 Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
I passed the CISSP on Friday and it was the craziest mind journey I have taken. I have been in the cyber domain for around 10 years or so… I have a bachelors in CIS with an emphasis in information security and a masters in cybersecurity. The question I see on the forum is often how did you prepare?

The journey starts about three years ago when I went through a comprehensive course lasting six months that included satellite communications, networking (at the CCNA level), defensive operations, offensive operations and a lot more. I also got my Security+ out of that course as well. So, I would say that I am familiar with all of the domains. So being the “smart guy” that I am… (sarcasm) I didn’t study until the last minute…. Was this a mistake, probably!

(My saving grace)

The last two weeks have been a whirl wind of studying and attending a two week CISSP course. The course was awesome, the teacher was energetic and knew ways to explain core concepts. For example, IPSec tunnel and transport. He used a tractor trailer to explain how transport worked, explaining that the two components of a tractor trailer are examples of an AH and an ESP. He explained how you can see where the tractor (AH) is going, but you can't see the contents inside the trailer (ESP) . Was his class enough to to pass, well for me it was but for a few other students it wasn’t. I can say that one of the students that failed didn't have a lot of experience in the cyber domain.