Options

MTA 98-365 - Can I pass it? Will there be a similar exam? How about MCSA 70-410?

noob88noob88 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi, all.

I have been working as a desktop technician for more than 5 years and don't have any certs. Windows Server administration is an area I would like to focus on. Employer sees a need for it as we currently have 5 Windows servers and nobody with substantial Windows Server knowledge and will pay for a Microsoft cert. So I'd like to seize this opportunity.

I was really interested in the MTA 98-365 but was disappointed to learn that it's being retired on July 31. I don't know much about Microsoft certifications. Will there be a similar exam rolled out to replace it? My second option is perhaps Exam 70-410: Installing and Configuring Windows Server 2012. Of course, this would only be 1/3 of an MCSA, but I'm having doubts about my ability to pass all three exams for the MCSA at this time.

I'd like to start with something lower level like the MTA to sort of gauge my knowledge and give me a bit of confidence to pursue higher certs. I wouldn't call myself a sharp person, nor am I necessarily good at taking tests, and to top that off I'm a rather slow learner, so this causes me a bit of worry. Just not sure how to size up these exams. I ran through the free Certiport PDF and got about 75% on the 98-365, but if things weren't clear I was very easily able to make an educated guess at the answer based on wording.