Options

Study Material

ParDigitalParDigital Member Posts: 11 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello all. I really want to study hard for this cert, but I tend to prefer written material as opposed to video for my main study digest.
I'm currently studying by way of CBT nuggets, and while the videos are great, I miss the method which helped me pass the CCNA (OCG and labs).
It seems that the general consensus is that the book sucks.
What I want to know is, is there any good written material I can get a hold of? Or should I wait a bit and focus on CCNP track instead?

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    aderonaderon Member Posts: 404 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Unless you want to drop $1500 on the On Demand E-learning (https://learningnetworkstore.cisco.com/on-demand-e-learning/implementing-cisco-network-security-iins-v3-0-elt-iins-v3-0-019451), then I wouldn't bother taking this cert. And I also wouldn't recommend dropping $1500 on an entry level cert so.... yeah go with the CCNP icon_lol.gif

If this cert wasn't a mandatory requirement for me, there is absolutely no way I would take it, knowing what I know about its current state.
    2019 Certification/Degree Goals: AWS CSA Renewal (In Progress), M.S. Cybersecurity (In Progress), CCNA R&S Renewal (Not Started)
  • Options
    TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    When I passed I used CBT Nuggets and the OCG...of course with labbing. I took the previous version though.
  • Options
    poguepogue Member Posts: 213
    Agree... I just passed this exam last week as a requirement for a military contract job in Germany..

To paraphrase my thoughts on the current state of the exam...

Hot, stinking, putrid pile of garbage.

It is pretty much impossible to pass this exam using the OCG. There is no Foundation Learning Guide out yet.

Grammar issues on multiple questions.

Exam is "easier" to pass if you have a lot of experience with all the technologies covered, i.e., ACS, Firepower, IPS, IPSec/AnyConnect VPN, etc...