Options

Planned to take Microsoft Server 2012 Cerfications - Need advise

arkr16arkr16 Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
Dear all,

I have planned to take Microsoft Certification exams - 70-410, 70-411, 70-412, 70-413, 70-414.

1) Is there a necessary to follow any specific order for taking these exams which will make it easier?
2) What are the study materials to read that helps me to become successful in the above mentioned exams?

I have limited experience with Windows Servers and have no access to any servers in my current job. I am working as ICT Support Officer where in I provide every day helpdesk support and manage Kaspersky Antivirus server to around 150 users.

Any suggestions much appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Comments

• Options
    OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    Without experience of Windows Server, it will be tough. The MCSA is recommended for people with at least 12 months experience in a small to medium enterprise.

So you will need to get experience. I'd suggest getting an old server or workstation or beefy PC, with at least 16GB RAM, and then installing Windows 2012r2. An evaluation ISO is downloadable from Microsoft. Then install Hyper-V, and a couple more instances of Windows Server virtualised. 3 is a good number, since you can then have two AD servers to play with various AD type services and replication between the servers, and 1 member server to play with member server things.

Virtual Labs is also a good option to learn with.

I'd recommend the Microsoft Press books as well, but others will have their own preferred resources. There are also lots of online courses, but I don't know any good ones.

But hands on is a must.
    2017 Goals - Something Cisco, Something Linux, Agile PM
  • Options
    TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□