Options

Studying a certification topic that doesn't particularly interest you.

Benj94Benj94 Member Posts: 67 ■■■□□□□□□□
Have you had to study towards any certifications that don't particularly interest you?
I'm currently studying Network+ and i'm really struggling to stay motivated, however I know it's necessary to get to where I want to be.

Any tips for finishing a certification that isn't of interest?

Server and Storage Analyst
CompTIA A+
MSCA: Server 2016 - 70-710 70-711 70-712

Comments

• Options
    PseudonymPseudonym Member Posts: 341 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Networking is pretty vital to any technical IT job. If it doesn't interest you at this early stage then maybe you're in the wrong game.
    Certifications - A+, Net+, Sec+, Linux+, ITIL v3, MCITP:EDST/EDA, CCNA R&S/Cyber Ops, MCSA:2008/2012, MCSE:CP&I, RHCSA
    Working on - RHCE
  • Options
    doctorlexusdoctorlexus Member Posts: 217
    Learning the fundamentals isn't always easy or exciting, but stick with it for the sake of the big picture. Once it all starts coming together, you may find you have a new and better perspective on it all.

Show me encapsulate, decapsulate...
    Also, if Net+ isn't that interesting, perhaps try something more concrete like CCENT. Network+ seems like networking in the abstract (not exactly sure, haven't done that cert), but CCENT/CCNA gives you something concrete, i.e. working with real networking equipment toward a goal.
  • Options
    Learning the fundamentals isn't always easy or exciting, but stick with it for the sake of the big picture. Once it all starts coming together, you may find you have a new and better perspective on it all.

Show me encapsulate, decapsulate...
    Also, if Net+ isn't that interesting, perhaps try something more concrete like CCENT. Network+ seems like networking in the abstract (not exactly sure, haven't done that cert), but CCENT/CCNA gives you something concrete, i.e. working with real networking equipment toward a goal.