Options

New to Cisco, need new cert info for home lab

aodfanaodfan Member Posts: 7 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello all, I am new to the world of Cisco and looking to get my CCNA and possibly CCNP. I am looking at buying a kit or putting together a home lab. I know there is virtual and I will probably use that as well, but want to get my hands on real hardware. I know that most of the cheaper equipment out there sold as kits use 1841s or 26x1XMs for routers and either 2950s or 2960s for switches. I know before the recent update to the new certs that usually students would use the older 12.4 vs 15.1 due to cost, etc and would still be able to pass the certs.

Going with the new certs will we need to start using 15.1 rather than 12.4 now or can we still use 12.4 for the foreseeable future?

Thank you!

Comments

• Options
    clarsonclarson Member Posts: 903 ■■■■□□□□□□
    as a rule of thumb, for the ccna, 12.4 is still good enough. For the ccnp, anything that isn't running a version 15 isn't good enough.
  • Options
    GDainesGDaines Member Posts: 273 ■■■□□□□□□□
    aodfan wrote: »
    Going with the new certs will we need to start using 15.1 rather than 12.4 now or can we still use 12.4 for the foreseeable future?

Thank you!

A lot of what you buy will come with IOS 12 unless you buy wisely. As long as you buy the right kit, much of it can be upgraded to IOS 15. You'll probably install 15.0 as I believe (and someone can correct me if I'm wrong) that 15.1 uses universal images that require licenses to activate additional features, and if I've read replies by other members correctly concerning this, some licenses are time limited and so features that exist at time of purchase might well expire. I also believe you can buy licenses that last forever, so they are the types you want to ensure you have. If you stick with 15.0 then there are different IOS files for each feature set, and the ones you want are either advipservices or adventerprise.