Options

Should I take the job with Cisco?

NetworkEngineer2016NetworkEngineer2016 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
This is a throwaway account for obvious reasons but I just needed some career advice. So I just got offered a job with Cisco as a NCE and I don't know if I should take it. I just graduated college this past year and I have been working with my current company for 8 months now.

I have always dreamed of working as an NCE for Cisco but not this early in my career. I wasn't looking for jobs but when a recruiter from Cisco contacted me I figured that I'd apply. I really didn't think I was gonna get the job at all but now that I did, I need to decide whether or not I should take it.

My current company has been very good to me. They have sent me to a lot of training classes and are even sending me to Cisco Live next week (which I would give up to another employee if given the job). It's just that there is a 30% pay increase at Cisco and the benefits are just so much better. And let's not forget the fact that they will support me in getting my CCIE which I want very badly.

Any advice??

Comments

• Options
    MeanDrunkR2D2MeanDrunkR2D2 Member Posts: 899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    If networking is your career path, there isn't a more noticeable employer for you to put on your resume than Cisco. While your current employer has been very good to you, a 30% pay raise to work for them seems to be a no brainer to me. The experience you gain there will be incredible and chances are you may see things at a deeper level than most outside the company will notice.
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Cisco is a nice name to have on your resume, but I wouldn't just drop a good job for it. If you like what you do now and your company takes care of you then no reason the jump ship in my opinion.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options