Options

Passed with similar feedback to mayacosta78

amber27amber27 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
OMG. I will need a lot of time to recover from that - I cannot believe I passed. The mix of emotions I had experienced during that exam should only ever be experienced at big life events. I think my background is important - I have no networking experience (and no natural inclination towards technology), but do have operational security experience (have been involved in risk assessments reviewing and writing policies and procedures to ensure compliance with HIPAA Administrative Safeguards).

This test is hard given that sort of background. I read Gibson's book, reviewed exam objectives, and used Messer's videos. You really have to understand the concepts - I felt the questions were so vague. And having 72 in a row was pure exhaustion on my brain no matter how much water kefir and energizing liver pills I took beforehand to avoid exactly this. I was thankful for the performance based questions were I thought were straightforward. Also, maybe I'm old, but I'm certain studies have been done showing that reading comprehension is much better on paper than on screen. Words felt like they were blurring together. Thank goodness no one else was in the exam room - I was pacing around, standing up, and talking aloud to keep myself from going crazy...or, um...clearly I must have gone crazy.

In any case, if you do have networking experience, I do think you'll be fine studying good materials and the exam objectives. If you're coming to it with my experience, spend time understanding the concepts and not so much time trying to memorize everything. And, good luck!

Comments

• Options
    next for me? ...a vacation in France... :D

Congrats on having all three!
  • Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
  • Options
    AndersonSmithAndersonSmith Member Posts: 471 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Congratulations!
    All the best,
    Anderson

"Everything that has a beginning has an end"