Options

Not so happy with my current job and looking for maybe MS in IT ? But what?

masdrobedamasdrobeda Member Posts: 30 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I have been a Network Analyst for 1 and 1/2 years, mainly working on Juniper devices, Cisco phone system and some other unrelated BS work (I work in a small company so you know how it goes).

I feel I am more than ready for a change, perhaps still in the networking field in a different company?

However, I have been reading some stuff about Infosec and I find it somewhat interesting. I would like to hear from you all if its worth it pursuing a MS Degree in IT CyberSecurity & Information Asssurance or perpharps a second bachelors in Networking ?

I currently have BS in Comp Science (not a big fan of programming), and I have JNCIA, Win 7, and working on CCNA R&S certs.

I am not sure where to go from here, but at my point in life, money matters.

Again, I like networking field but sometimes I see that less tech and more management is where the money is.

Thanks in advance for your input.

Comments

• Options
    scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    Do what interests you. Sometimes, it is not all about the 'money'.
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • Options
    soccarplayer29soccarplayer29 Member Posts: 230 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Since you already have a related degree in the field I wouldn't suggest another bachelors degree. And I'd dip your toe in the waters first before diving into a masters in information assurance.

I'd suggest self-studying (professor messer/gibson) the Sec+ materials and see what you think first. If you decide that's a path you want to continue you could decide to do a masters or do more certs.
    Certs: CISSP, CISA, PMP
  • Options
    masdrobedamasdrobeda Member Posts: 30 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Do what interests you. Sometimes, it is not all about the 'money'.