Passed CCNA R&S - What Next?

lsimon305lsimon305 Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello All,

First, I want to say this is one of the best resources out there as far as user feedback, suggestions, advice, tips and tricks when it comes to certifications. Big Fan!

So I recently passed the CCNA (took the 2 test approach) and now I'm on the fence on which Cisco path to take next.

I'm currently a Senior Security Engineer Consultant where I work at different companies on various projects. The main solutions we sell are Check Point. I'm currently a Check Point Certified Security Master (CCSM) and apply those skills on a daily basis. I also have several Symantec certs like DLP, SMG, SEP and CCS.

I also have my CISSP, CEH and a few more security certs.

I've found very quickly as a security engineer consultant that no matter which way I cut it it all comes back or through to networking and that is why I'm starting the Cisco journey. I engineer, architect and implement various security infrastructure where 99% of the time the switches and routers in play are Cisco so knowing some of the Cisco commands, terminology and technology helps very much.

As soon as I started studying for the CCNA I instantly saw how it helped within planning/meetings and in the field as I was able to apply those items I've learned right away.

I have touched several ASA's for customers and also routers and switches so now I'm not sure if I should take the CCNA Security at least (first) then go for the CCNP R&S after. I heard that taking the CCNA Security will help when studying for the CCNP R&S because some of the concepts are overlapped.