Options

Median hours per week to study for an exam - personally

DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
Right now I am studying for an SQL exam via MS. It's been ~3 weeks and I am averaging between 5 hours a week to 10. I was just curious what you normally put in. This week will be a little difference since I took a personal day today and spent ~2 hours this morning which was very helpful and later I plan on putting in another hour, which will make 3. That is rare though normally I will go through 30 - 45 minutes a day tops on a particular item.

Just curious what the community does.... I've been thinking of ramping up my time, but I'm afraid while I'll get this first exam knocked out I may burn out and not complete the full race....

Comments

• Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    ***watches intensely for the helpful "It depends on your learning capability and exam" answer***

I usually only do an hour or 2 a day for about a month for most exams though. Of course it will depend on... icon_wink.gif
  • Options
    dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Depends on the exam date. As it gets closer, I study more. Usually put in about an hour/day if far away.
    2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert
    "Simplify, then add lightness" -Colin Chapman
  • Options
    bettsy584bettsy584 Member Posts: 69 ■■□□□□□□□□
    If I am studying hard for a cert I usually try to do 4 hours, 6 days per week for the 2 weeks up to the exam.

Get up at 5am, study for 2 hours the raw exam content.

Lunch time - review the morning topics.

Evening - exam review, further reading, lab and some official exam questions.

Most of the certs I do these days are in technology I have experience in. If it's a new technology, probably 6 weeks study in toal.
  • Options
    thomas_thomas_ Member Posts: 1,012 ■■■■■■■■□□