Options

Thoughts on CertMaster for Sec+?

BBirBBir Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Starting to study for my Sec+ . Setting an aggressive date of September 30th for exam take. I am wanting to have the retake option since I am setting, for me, such an aggressive date. My background is Desktop Administration, particular desktop support, OS Deployment, and SCCM administration. However, I am familiar with some security concepts and tools, I just don't mess with them in my day-to-day.

The study material I have started with is Sybex's Security+ Study Guide. They, also, have chapter test exams, flash cards, and a few practice exams. I am looking for other options to use with this guide.

Knowing this, Comptia's site shows that the retake option cost $386, but includes CertMaster for 12-months. Has anyone used this material? Thoughts? is the $386 a good deal? Is the retake option only available in bundles (I hadn't seen anything on Comptia's site, yet saying otherwise).

Much appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    JTNJTN Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I purchased the Certmaster for both the Net+ and Sec+. I mainly bought it for the retake. The actual certmaster is just okay. Its not that helpful but still worth using. I would recommend purchasing Darill Gibson Sec+ book and watch Professor Messer videos. Also purchase the course notes from Professor Messer
  • Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I bought it for the retake option. $311 for one attempt or $386 for two attempts. I actually passed my first attempt but liked having the cheap retake if I failed.

I didn't touch the actual material that came with it, just bought it for the retake.
  • Options
    adrenaline19adrenaline19 Member Posts: 251
    Want to hear something stupid?
    You can't use an American card when registering to take the exams overseas through the CertMaster.
  • Options
    BBirBBir Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□