WGU MSISA - my review (Aug 2016)

As I just finished my courses and filled out the graduation paperwork, I wanted to share some information about the whole degree to provide my own perspective and experience.

- Background: I'm a military officer currently deployed downrange. I've been responsible for coordinating all communication support for a small base of about 2300 users, led the acquisition planning effort and fielding of two major contracts worth about $2.5M (deployment of 800 computers as well as 350 tactical radios - talk about a headache in planning and implementing ), provided automation support for 4 major conferences (80-100 attendees each) in my area.
I wanted to take the opportunity this year of accomplishing something that will advance my career personally and professionally. During my previous deployments, I "put my life on pause for a year", did what I had to do to accomplish my mission, take care of my guys and bring everyone home safely. This time, I wanted to add the additional task of earning a degree and break the habit from the previous trips here. I looked around, researched plenty and settled on WGU as a potential institution that can provide me with an education, yet not impose too many restrictions as far as time and interaction. I am a regular self-starter who can accomplish tasks once I set my mind to it. I did a semester with Norwich back in the day and dropped out because of life issues at the time. I looked for a regionally accredited degree that will provide a valid education and good prospects for professional employment later on. I also wanted to acquire for future doctoral work.