Which Exam to go for: VCP5 or VCP6?

bym007bym007 Member Posts: 48 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I took the Stanly VCP550 course in fall 2015. I have a 70% discount voucher as well, valid till 1st Oct 2016.
I am in a rush to avail this voucher and get in.

However, I have this morning noticed that I have new options available (which I didnt notice previously).
As per the VMware website, I have the option to take VCP550 exam immediately, or I can take a Whats New course, and take 2 exams to certify for VCP6.

Which option may be better in your opinion, knowing of course VCP550 is the cheapest and direct option, but VCP6 is latest.

Including a snapshot:

CCNA R/S [ ], CCDA [ ], VCP6 [ ]
BS Computers [✔], MSc Computer Networks [✔], MBA [✔]

Comments

  • scott28ttscott28tt Member Posts: 686 ■■■■■□□□□□
    To give you another option: (and it's what I would do in your situation)

    Pass VCP550 first, and then 2V0-621D - that will give you VCP5-DCV AND VCP6-DCV.

    This is taken from the VCP6-DCV page:

    VCP2 / VCP3 / VCP4 / VCP5 / VCAP4-DCA / VCI / vExpert 2010-2012
    Blog - http://vmwaretraining.blogspot.com
    Twitter - http://twitter.com/vmtraining
    Email - [email protected]
  • bym007bym007 Member Posts: 48 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the brilliant advise, thats what I will probably go for.
    CCNA R/S [ ], CCDA [ ], VCP6 [ ]
    BS Computers [✔], MSc Computer Networks [✔], MBA [✔]
  • digital.heart.2008digital.heart.2008 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi,
    I am also in the same boat. My current VCP5 expiring in next few days and want to keep it active. but in my case, Instead of going for vcp6, I am interested in VCP6-CMA. Can I do vcp6-cma exam ? what will be the outcome and status of my current vcp status ?

    Can anyone please advise here ?

    Thanks in advance.
  • tbgree00tbgree00 Member Posts: 553 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Yes, as long as you have an active VCP in any other track you can sit the VCP6-CMA. Details for existing candidates here: https://mylearn.vmware.com/mgrReg/plan.cfm?plan=64295&ui=www_cert

    Also good luck! If you are expiring in a matter of days you better get studying.
    I finally started that blog - www.thomgreene.com
  • scott28ttscott28tt Member Posts: 686 ■■■■■□□□□□
    My current VCP5 expiring in next few days and want to keep it active.
    Don't let it expire: VMware Training and Certification: Don't allow your VCP certification to expire - here's why!

    The simplest option when you're in a hurry is 2V0-621D, the VCP6-DCV delta exam for VCP5-DCV holders - or the regular 2V0-621 exam for VCP6-DCV.

    You could go for 1 of the other 3 VCP6s, but you'd need knowledge and experience in the corresponding products.

    Do something though, and quick icon_smile.gif
    VCP2 / VCP3 / VCP4 / VCP5 / VCAP4-DCA / VCI / vExpert 2010-2012
    Blog - http://vmwaretraining.blogspot.com
    Twitter - http://twitter.com/vmtraining
    Email - [email protected]
  • EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,078 ■■■■■■■■□□
    There is no more training requirement though.
  • digital.heart.2008digital.heart.2008 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thank you all for your valuable suggestions... I will update once I clear the exam :) very sooon :)
  • scott28ttscott28tt Member Posts: 686 ■■■■■□□□□□
    EANx wrote: »
    There is no more training requirement though.
    There will be if his VCP expires icon_wink.gif
    VCP2 / VCP3 / VCP4 / VCP5 / VCAP4-DCA / VCI / vExpert 2010-2012
    Blog - http://vmwaretraining.blogspot.com
    Twitter - http://twitter.com/vmtraining
    Email - [email protected]
  • EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,078 ■■■■■■■■□□
    scott28tt wrote: »
    There will be if his VCP expires icon_wink.gif
    To get a new VCP without having to spend thousands on a class, someone simply needs to have a CCNA (routing & switching or datacenter), show that to VMware, pass the Foundation and VCP-NV. At that point, they can switch to whichever track they want. Yes, it would take more time to study for three exams than just two but the CCNA is far cheaper than paying for a class.

    I realize that some people are able to take a cheaper class through a community college but the OP claims to be in Saudi Arabia. If he/she is Saudi, that option might not be available.
  • scott28ttscott28tt Member Posts: 686 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Yes I'm aware of the VITA classes, and the Cisco option.
    VCP2 / VCP3 / VCP4 / VCP5 / VCAP4-DCA / VCI / vExpert 2010-2012
    Blog - http://vmwaretraining.blogspot.com
    Twitter - http://twitter.com/vmtraining
    Email - [email protected]
  • STANLY_CCSTANLY_CC Senior Member Albemarle, NCMember Posts: 333 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Being Located outside of the U.S. should not be a problem in taking an online course.
  • digital.heart.2008digital.heart.2008 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thank you all for your valuable suggestions... I will update once I clear the exam :) very sooon :)

    I passed the VCP6-CMA exam and renewed my VCP status.
  • STANLY_CCSTANLY_CC Senior Member Albemarle, NCMember Posts: 333 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Congratulations!
    I passed the VCP6-CMA exam and renewed my VCP status.
  • Highl1Highl1 Member Posts: 24 ■■■□□□□□□□
  • tmurphy3100tmurphy3100 Member Posts: 154 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I too was in the Stanly CC Fall 2015 class. Does anyone know how long we have to take the exam? Before the training is inactive.
    2020 Goals: CCNA R&S, Cysa+, AZ103, Linux+, Pentest+
  • scott28ttscott28tt Member Posts: 686 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I too was in the Stanly CC Fall 2015 class. Does anyone know how long we have to take the exam? Before the training is inactive.
    For as long as the exam remains available, and your voucher for the exam is valid.
    VCP2 / VCP3 / VCP4 / VCP5 / VCAP4-DCA / VCI / vExpert 2010-2012
    Blog - http://vmwaretraining.blogspot.com
    Twitter - http://twitter.com/vmtraining
    Email - [email protected]
  • STANLY_CCSTANLY_CC Senior Member Albemarle, NCMember Posts: 333 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Scott28tt is correct, however, the vouchers do expire. Generally within a year of being issued. Remember under VMware's current system for ITA courses, you must use the voucher provided upon successful completion of the course in order for you to receive credit for the course itself.
  • cloudicloudi Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I have VCP5.5 Certification (VCP550PSE - VMware Certified Professional 5 - Data Center Virtualization) and It is going expire in a Month.

    I'm i eligible to take VCP-CMA (2V0-631) exam or do i need to take class. Please advise.
  • MitMMitM Member Posts: 622 ■■■■□□□□□□
    cloudi wrote: »
    I have VCP5.5 Certification (VCP550PSE - VMware Certified Professional 5 - Data Center Virtualization) and It is going expire in a Month.

    I'm i eligible to take VCP-CMA (2V0-631) exam or do i need to take class. Please advise.

    You can take any VCP exam, since your VCP 5.5 is still valid.
  • scott28ttscott28tt Member Posts: 686 ■■■■■□□□□□
    cloudi wrote: »
    I have VCP5.5 Certification (VCP550PSE - VMware Certified Professional 5 - Data Center Virtualization) and It is going expire in a Month.

    I'm i eligible to take VCP-CMA (2V0-631) exam or do i need to take class. Please advise.
    Go to the Existing Candidate Requirements tab, and expand Path 2: https://mylearn.vmware.com/mgrReg/plan.cfm?plan=64295&ui=www_cert
    VCP2 / VCP3 / VCP4 / VCP5 / VCAP4-DCA / VCI / vExpert 2010-2012
    Blog - http://vmwaretraining.blogspot.com
    Twitter - http://twitter.com/vmtraining
    Email - [email protected]
Sign In or Register to comment.