Options

Group Policy not getting applied properly! Help please!

newbienewbnewbienewb Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
We are testing for a domain based setup for one of our department;I work as a network admin, have been given the restrictions to be imposed on clients/members of the domain;Like the desktop should not be modified, no access to the add/remove programs in the control panel,etc.;For this department I created an OU called sales and applied those restrictions to the group policy(in User Configuration) of that sales OU;

However the restrictions are imposed on the Domain controller itself and to the users who are logging on the client systems/members of the domain! icon_sad.gif

Please let me know where I might have gone wrong! I am new to Windows Server 2003 system administration and working on MCP70-290.

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    kalebkspkalebksp Member Posts: 1,033 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Is the account you are using to logon to the domain controller in the OU you created?
  • Options
    keatronkeatron Member Posts: 1,213 ■■■■■■□□□□
    It sounds like the GP is applied to the domain instead of the OU. Or you have somehow managed to move all the people/groups you are referring to into the OU you've applied the GP to. Check to see where the group policy is linked.
  • Options
    jamesthatsmeukjamesthatsmeuk Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
    newbienewb wrote:
    We are testing for a domain based setup for one of our department;I work as a network admin, have been given the restrictions to be imposed on clients/members of the domain;Like the desktop should not be modified, no access to the add/remove programs in the control panel,etc.;For this department I created an OU called sales and applied those restrictions to the group policy(in User Configuration) of that sales OU;

However the restrictions are imposed on the Domain controller itself and to the users who are logging on the client systems/members of the domain! icon_sad.gif