WGU? Worth it?

I am currently attending a school in class but the price of WGU and the certifications you will receive while there almost seem better.

Is WGU worth it?

Should I switch to them after I complete my AS degree?

Thoughts? Thanks.

Comments

• markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Definitely worth it for me. With it being self-paced, giving me a bunch of certs, etc., I thought the ROI on it was great.
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    As with everything in life, they have some issues but I found no better way to get a Masters for $6k. So yes, totally worth it for me.
  • GessGess Member Posts: 144 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Depends on your standards and goals, I guess.
  • MJK9550MJK9550 Member Posts: 160
    They are accredited just as any university?

The certs are what does it for me, and the price seems very reasonable.
  • PJ_SneakersPJ_Sneakers Member Posts: 884 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Yeah, they're accredited.

PROS:
    Do I have a degree now? Yep, and I'm proud to have earned it.

CONS:
    Does it help me break the ice whilst engaging in small talk at the country club? WTF is a country club.

But really. It's like driving a Hyundai Genesis. It's a very nice car, but you're still driving a Hyundai. You'll never get the oohs and ahhs from dudes who are riding around in Mercedesess and BMW's.

But you sure as hell ain't driving a Ford Fiesta.
  • TLeTourneauTLeTourneau Member Posts: 616 ■■■■■■■■□□
    It worked well for me. If a persons goal is to get an accredited degree it can be an entirely viable option. You have to be self-motivated for the school to work for you though, there is little to no hand holding.
    Thanks, Tom

M.S. - Cybersecurity and Information Assurance
    B.S: IT - Network Design & Management
  • Legacy UserLegacy User Unregistered / Not Logged In Posts: 0 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I do agree that you would not get the same feedback like you would if you went to a known state school, etc during small talk among peers.