Options

Which certificate is right for me between CompTIA A+ or Network+?

php111php111 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone,

I apologize but I was not sure which certificate section should I post my thread in, my apologies.

Based on what I am going to explain about me, which certificate would be best and without spending all that money than I end up failing the exam and I have no certificate?

I have no experience at all.

I don't have the knowledge and the skills.

I never went to college so I have no degrees and never was trained.

I never worked a day in my life. I only receive fix income and it is time for me to make extra money.

Alright, so which certificate would be the best to start and where do I even start without jumping in and buying it at first?

(EDIT: Moved to General Certification)

Comments

• Options
    CertifiedMonkeyCertifiedMonkey Member Posts: 172 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I'd go with the A+ because it covers the fundamentals of computer components, operating systems, networking and security. The only problem with the A+ is that it you need to pass two tests 220-901 and 220-902 to get one credential. Each test is around $200? (may be more, it's been a while since I checked).

Some beginner resources for the A+:
    Mike Meyers A+ all in one book ~$50
    Mike Meyers A+ video course on Udemy (220-901/220-902 version)
  • Options
    Thanks so much!

Assuming I pass both A+ exams and I get my certificate and which would you go for next? And do they postal mail the certificate or how does that work?
  • Options
    sillymcnastysillymcnasty Member Posts: 254 ■■■□□□□□□□
    They mail the certificate.

In addition to the studying, try working somewhere. You might have to work for free, or minimum wage for a while because you don't have much to offer at this point. A cert with no experience will get you absolutely nowhere.
  • Options