Beginner questions - VMware or Citrix server virtualization

J043J043 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I am a systems administrator (Windows, Linux) and databases (MySQL, pgSQL, MSSQL). I am interested in getting the certifications of VMware or Citrix server virtualization - in begining 2017 year.

So far, I have not had to deal with Citrix Xen or VMware ESX. Once I heard that to get VCP (VMware) to take part in the course but I was too young to pay for the course. ;)

I would like to learn the implementation and administration of VMware or Citrix and pass exams in this field - without participating in training.

For the purposes of science I'm planning to create their own test environment, which will be composed: 3 x HP DL360 G6 QC e5504 VT 16GB RAM DDR3 2x 73GB SAS - please any suggestions.

I request information:
1. What is the certification path for VMware server virtualization environment
1.1. How much does one exam?
1.2. Is the exam is practical or theoretical (question with select anserwer) ?
1.3. How long is the exam?
1.4. From what book I can prepare for the exam?

2. What is the certification path for Citrix server virtualization environment
2.2. How much does one exam?
2.2. Is the exam is practical or theoretical question with select anserwer)?
2.3. How long is the exam?
2.4. From what book I can prepare for the exam?

Thanks.

Comments

• dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
    2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert
    "Simplify, then add lightness" -Colin Chapman
  • thehappyonethehappyone Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I suggest looking at what the job market in your local area is looking for. I've been doing a lot of job searching in London UK the past few days and Citrix has come up alot.
  • J043J043 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    In this page https://mylearn.vmware.com/mgrReg/plan.cfm?plan=64178&ui=www_cert about "VMware Certified Professional 6 – Data Center Virtualization (VCP6-DCV)" is write: